Memorial Day

As I said on Twitter, thank you to those who have gone before. Adding flowery words isn’t going to help what is already such a heartfelt and yet so inadequate sentiment. So it’s all I really can say to the men and women who died in service and have inspired me in so many ways.

I come from a military family. I’ve had family in every branch but the Navy and Coast Guard. I have military background myself. Luckily, none of us have been called on to make that ultimate sacrifice. But I do hope that if that moment ever comes for me, that I can make those who already sacrificed so much proud.

Below are some pictures and a video I took when I had the opportunity to visit Arlington National Cemetery in September of 2016. Every American should visit there at least once. Whether you believe in a higher power or not, it is humbling to walk there, and if you let yourself, you can feel the presence of those men. It is overwhelming to know you are surrounded by warriors, none of them perfect, but every one of them did their duty, and for many of them that included giving their lives.

If you’ve never had the opportunity to watch the changing of the guard at the Tomb of the Unknowns, I would recommend it. I wanted to include a video, but it wouldn’t upload here. It is truly one of the great military traditions. The 3rd Infantry Regiment is amazing and I would like to thank them, particularly the sentinels, for their work in honoring our fallen. It can’t be an easy job, but they do it 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.

I wish everybody a happy Memorial Day. Please remember those who made that possible, but don’t be somber. I can’t imagine that any of them would wish for us to brood over their sacrifices. Be thankful.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.